The bedroom machine that does it all, which one would you choose?

First post here, would love to hear your opinions, so I started playing guitar when I was 13 or something but by the time i was 15 I stopped, my setup was a chinese LP knockoff by Starsun running into a Fender Frontman 65R, but for the last year this passion of music has came back. But as a student I find myself unable to play because that fella roars too loud for an apartment.

I'm know looking into relatively cheap solutions that would allow me to play silently...

I was looking at a THR10 or an Amplifi TT, because they both take up little space, right now I'm more leaning towards the TT for one simple reason, I don't have any pedals and can't afford them at the moment, and the TT seems MUCH more versatile.

What's your take on my situation? Which one of these would you choose? Is there an alternative I'm missing?

Also I have a drummer friend, to jam with him when I'm back home I'd need to plug that fella into the Frontman, would that work alright?

Many thanks in advance :)

Last edited:

cat-the-odd

On the other side of your screen
Welcome.

I own a THR10 and I love it. Straightforward controls. No wireless BS. I practice and record e.g. my Forum jams with it. The extended editor capabilities are rarely used as plug-and-play is priority. It also has its own speakers and gets use when I watch a movie on the laptop. The fact that you can run it on batteries is a nice plus when having a session with some other musicians at a BBQ. I even take it with me when taking lessons, so I know how to dial in the sound I need.

The THR likes also a drive pedal in front of it. You'll learn a lot how each amp model reacts differently to gain/volume/pedalgain/pedalvolume and you'll be able to prepare for a "not-at-home" rig.

Someone else shall now hail the Amplifi TT.