PEDAL BOARD HELP!

Hello,

I'm new to pedal boards. I have a Voo Doo Lab medium board with power supply. I'd like to know your suggested "chain" for the pedals I have. 1. Delay (MXR) 2. Chorus (MXR) 3. Reverb (Oceans 11) 4. Looper (TC Electronic) 5. Echo Shifter 6. Beat Buddy 7. Echo Plex 8. Overdrive (Dirty Shirley) 9. Compression (pulp n peel v4).

I'm past my prime with electronics, and all the wiz bang is making my head spin, but I think I can get it right if anyone can lend some knowledge. Thanks!!

mirage2101

Ok I'm not an expert but I'd go..
compression You probably use this mostly for clean but compression into drive can be usefull while after drive the signal is already compressed.
overdrive best before all wonky time and mod stuff
chorus before delays because you want to get your sound ready before adding echo;s. but could be after the delays too depending on your goal
delay three delays.. I have no opinion on the order of these 3 tbh.. I don't know enough about the individual pedals to have an informed opinion
echo plex
echo shifter
reverb glues everything together or makes a huge wash of the sound. Either way best at the end.
looper you'll want to loop your final sound and be able to change the sound for each loop. So at the end.
beat buddy add drums after you've done what you want. putting it in front of the looper will make life very difficult with turning it on and off. before the other pedals will make a mess of the drum sound.

Tankman

Subtly not giving a F*ck
I think there's two important things to remember when determining the order of pedals.

First of all, there is definitely a general rule to what goes where. Second, it's a general rule, meaning you are free to experiment with the order to figure out what you think sounds best. It is proven, though, that certain pedals work better in certain orders.

Some examples of things working in different places: