Idiots guide to improvising...

I have watched so many different tutorials on how to begin to improvise, alot of the 'lessons' seem to be more about the teacher just flexing their ability rather than actually help you understand, sometimes i feel like you just need to know how to do things in layman's terms and theory will start to make sense.

obviously this is an objective point of view and how i would rather see things... i am a beginner btw, so sorry if i dont use the right jargons or if im out of context etc.

Here's what i understand so far...
Lets use the A minor pentatonic scale as an example, from what i understand if we are using the root of A, we would start a lick with A, hit some other notes in the scale and resolve the lick in A, add some techniques like bending/sliding etc to give it some flavour to make it more interesting.

Thats all i pretty much understand right now, im guessing you can move between the 5 different positions by finding the root notes of A in those positions? or can you move into any note of the next position too but resolve in A?

Also is there an over simplified explanation of using chord arpeggios in the scale (lets say A, D,E)?

if we took that 1,4,5 progression in A, do we play the scales in the appropriate key to the backing track? so A - play in A, when the backing track goes to D, play in D and so on?

Hopefully you fretboard masters can share your wisdom, again... i understand i may have it all wrong, i dont want to trigger people.

johnniegoat

Stop, don’t, come back.
rob chapman, the person this forum was initiated by, actually is quite good at this type of thing on YT. you should look up some of his older things, although i am not sure how advanced his stuff can be

i also like the tutorial stuff by Music is Win, Mike Bradley, Robert Baker have some good stuff too